In the IELTS Writing test, the scores are based on four criteria: Task Achievement (TA), Coherence and Cohesion (CC), Lexical Resource (LR), and Grammatical Range and Accuracy (GRA). Here’s a brief explanation of each criterion:

1. Task Achievement (TA)

This criterion assesses how well you have addressed the task requirements and whether you have provided a relevant and sufficient response. It focuses on whether you have fully developed your ideas, supported them with examples, and maintained a clear and logical progression throughout your essay.

2. Coherence and Cohesion (CC)

This criterion evaluates the overall clarity and coherence of your writing. It examines how well you have organized your ideas and connected them together using appropriate linking words and phrases. Additionally, it looks at the use of paragraphing and the logical flow of information within and between paragraphs.

3. Lexical Resource (LR)

This criterion assesses your vocabulary usage and the range of words and phrases you have employed in your writing. It considers the accuracy and appropriateness of your word choices, as well as your ability to use less common or more advanced vocabulary when necessary. Variety in vocabulary and the ability to paraphrase are also important factors.

4. Grammatical Range and Accuracy (GRA)

This criterion evaluates your control over grammar and sentence structures. It considers the accuracy of your grammar, including the correct use of verb tenses, sentence formation, subject-verb agreement, and the appropriate use of articles, prepositions, and conjunctions. The examiner also looks at your ability to use complex sentence structures and avoid repetitive language.

Each of these criteria is scored on a band scale from 0 to 9, and the scores for each criterion are then averaged to determine your overall Writing band score.

Leave a comment